Offshore Investing

Discussion in 'Risk Management' started by GreenTreeFrog, Sep 2, 2007.

1. Hi!

I am looking for advice on investing offshore.

I work full time developing software for a UK bank.

I am an Australian citizen though resident of Vanuatu for tax reasons. I have a company incorporated in Vanuatu that is contracted to UK bank so all income is paid directly into Vanuatu bank.

I also have a personal bank account in Guernsey UK.

We own property in Vanuatu, Australia and NZ.

My goal is to build and investment portfolio offshore. I don't really know where to start.

How do I know which jurisdiction to invest through? Should I stick with Vanuatu or go offshore elsewhere?

Do I invest in my personal name or through my incorporated company?

How do I know which investment company I can trust to manage my funds?

I *think* I want primarily income with some capital growth.

Can anyone offer any advice on where I can start to educate myself further to get answers to my questions above?

I have found a lot of information on the internet. I guess I just want to hear from people who have done it before so can give me some advice based on real experience.

Thank you very much! :D

2. Are you investing offshore because:

you are concerned someone may attach your money: divorce settlement, etc.
    (this is a fairly good reason)

Concern about the stability of your country - currency, economy, etc...
    (poor reason - a banana republic is a poor way to try and protect your wealth. An overthrow or international economic crisis might leave noncitizens at the mercy of local politics)

or to avoid paying your taxes?
    (Stupid reason - you may get a nice long prison sentence someday and owe more money than you ever thought possible. It is very hard to evade paying taxes for a long period. Everyone is being forced to cough up secrecy, and nations are now more and more sharing information and finding ways to track you down.)

3. No.
    No.