Offshore Accounts for beginners

Discussion in 'Trading' started by swissie, Aug 13, 2012.

1. swissie

swissie

Offshore trading accounts

I'm an American, and I need more leverage in my forex trading (I do neutral strategies that require leverage).

Unfortunately the NFA has a 50:1 limit, and does not allow forign brokers with 100:1+ to accept British or American citizens directly.

I am looking for a way to setup something in Cayman, but I am a noob. I don't know if it's illegal-I don't think so since I'm not evading taxes. I think I'll need a cayman Corporation, and a physical address-I bet there are services around that do this.

I wish barney frank wouldn't make it so difficult. Who needs margin limits on forex? It's an international market. 50:1 is not enough for spread betters!

2. A leading CFTC enforcement attorney on the new CFTC forex trading rules - including 50:1 leverage for retail off-exchange forex trades - told me Americans can't use "dummy corporations" to evade the new forex trading rules. Forming a 100% offshore entity to trade forex over 50:1 leverage with a non-registered broker or bank would probably be considered evasion and lead to trouble.

Offshore entites open a can of worms on new tax filings - lots of forms and professional fees - and it welcomes the IRS to audit you. Tax filings show these accounts and then the regulators may learn about them too.

These rules are unfortunate but it's the law and trying to skirt them will lead to trouble. Dodd-Frank reform goes too far.

3. swissie

swissie

Rob thanks for the insight. I wonder if any new bills will come forward to improve Dodd frank to get rid of dumb things. Even equities have a min day trade deposit-my nephew tried to trade in his brand new ib account, only to have it restricted for being under a certain SEC limit (he was not made aware of this clearly on his sign up).

I wonder if becoming a citizen in a country would be better.

4. Bob111

Bob111