Offering to write your strategy for free

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by fatrat, Aug 27, 2007.

1. fatrat

fatrat

Regarding the thread topic, someone else suggested I try this to evaluate and figure out how to leverage my technical background in this field without getting upset and burned out by hedge funds and banks in Manhattan.

Free comes with hitches, however:

- I am a graduate student, meaning nothing will really be timely if there are exams
    - Development can't start until after my current contract is up, meaning it'd be a few months (~2) and we'd have to discuss ideas in the interim
    - You would have to manage the project and ask for pieces
    - I am handicapped and have poor motor control and speech, meaning most communication has to be written or expressed mathematically
    - You should be very good with English
    - You agree I am not at fault if you lose money and you will test any end product yourself over a period of time to verify it works

I am not looking to get rich and steal your idea. In fact, you could give me a losing system and I'd implement it just to go through the process of start to finish for a strategy. I'd learn to evaluate the pros and cons and how to know when a strategy is good or bad. You get a free system, which you can share or not share with me at your own discretion.

In addition, your system should be fairly simple, testable, understandable.

I have extensive experience in C++ and C, can design custom device drivers, and write user-mode stuff fairly well also. I have a preference for Windows, but can work in Linux or other Unix systems as well.

My database skills are mediocre, meaning I can design databases but the performance wouldn't be as good as if a real DBA did the work.

Thanks, and feel free to IM me over AIM.

2. fatrat

fatrat