Offer Standing, Unsure if I should take it

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by Hitchhiker, Nov 28, 2005.

1. Hello experts need your help..

I just got offered a propietary trader trainee position with GHCO (Goldenberg), dont know if I should take it, Im new to the industry. Ive seen some pretty negative stuff on these forums about them and their working conditions so Im obviously hesitant.

Some positives about the position are - base salary, benefits, supposedly excellent training, and bonuses.

Some negatives are - the Golden Handcuffs (4 yr. non-compete contract), vague/ambiguous bonus compensation structure. The percentage of bonuses which go to the trader and then to company is not clearly defined...

Anyone have any ideas or advice on this company? Please let me know. Is this a pretty good deal, or is there some things I should really look out for?

Thanks

2. ig0r

ig0r

From what I've heard, GHCO is a frickin zoo.

The non-compete clause will not hold up in a court of law, regardless of what they tell you.

3. What do you mean its a zoo?

What else have you heard, more details if pssible please.
    Im thinkin that if I feel that its not for me, I prob wont go to another firm, ill just do forex trading on my own,

but if im good, my question is will I actually see osme money from GHCO?

4. mnx

mnx

it might be a good place to learn?????

who the heck else is gonna offer you a salary while you learn to trade...

I don't know anything about the firm, but if I were starting out I'd probably jump on it...

mnx

5. BankBank

BankBank

i had an interview here but pussed out to be safe and stay at my broker job. got a job later at HLV.

getting paid to go through training sounds really, really good. non-compete sounds lame.

6. CONR

CONR

Non-competes don't hold up.