Odds Maker

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by jtTrader, Feb 24, 2007.

1. jtTrader

jtTrader

I have been trading with odds maker (The Trade Ideas add-on) for a couple of weeks and I have been pretty happy with it, though two weeks isn't really that much of a test. But, the systems have exceeded the backtested performance so far.

I'm not anyway connected with them and this post is just my comments.

Any one else using it?

I have about 12 years of experience coding systems in Trade Station, and while I think it is the best product for coding systems, I think you end up spending too much time developing systems and not enough on trading. I think it is easy to get hung up on indicators and such. Trading is really much simplier than we make it. Its just price/volume/momentum/direction and their isn't a magic oscillator. I have been a software developer since around 1977 with coding experience in many languages. I'm old enough to remember arguing whether DOS or CP/M was better and if it was worth it to buy the Microsoft C compiler or stick with Borland's Pascal, so I have written a few lines of code. If these references confuse you, I was a geek when it meant something.

With Trade Ideas/Odds Maker, you build systems out of their own building blocks, so you are forced to use simple concepts like breakouts, retracements, etc. I think this prevents curve fitting, and these systems can usually be developed in a couple of hours at the most. With tradestation I would spend months refining and testing a system.

In order to use odds maker, you have to have a fundamental understanding of trading strategies that work, or work under certain conditions. Without this, its not a crutch. Someone who has a solid understanding of this but lacks coding experience would have no problem using it.