NZD/USD ... just got my head handed to me

Discussion in 'Forex' started by len979, Jun 8, 2007.

1. len979

len979

I'm really stumped by the strength in nzd/usd. I got my head handed to me twice by this weird pair, and I've been trading forex successfully for almost three years now, so i'm not a newbie.

I first went short at 0.7424 five days ago (below 78.6% fib of 7491 and 7237) was sure it would hit that fib and plunge to test 7180. Instead it kept going and had to close out my position manually at 7509 when it was evident my stop at 7535 would get hit. I then reshort at 7525 as it looked that spike was usual stop hunting. I scalped it for + 35, then placed a swing order, short at 7517 average which I AGAIN had to close out manually at 7593 (stop was 7615, which i bet would have been hit).... very annoying!! What the F*@! is going on here??! Anyone know what's going on?

I know they just raised rates to 8% but there was a good ramp up a few days before announcement. That kind of news usually get sold or is already priced in. The monthly chart shows there's good resistance at 7460 - 7480, but this rampage is insane. As I type this it's still running like hell (+68) while aud/usd is only +5.

Please post your thoughts on this. thanks

2. nravo

nravo