Nucking Futs

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by my2cts, Nov 1, 2007.

1. my2cts

my2cts

So I have been trading for 6years+, I consider myself a professional ( so does the NASD). I work for a prop firm. My problem is as such, what made me a good trader from the get go was my ability to hold on to my winners for really nice gains, and cut my losers very quickly. (pretty obvious huh?) Over the last few months My P/L has fluctuated ridiculusly, I know the market has been super volatile but, I am a short term momentum trader. I have completely turned the table and now instead I am holding loser after loser for huge losses. Hitting out at the bottom no less. (or the top) I used to have a great balance for risk and reward and now I hold a point against me for 20ct winner. Furthemore, when I get down on the day I keep firing into a blackhole compunding my losses. When I get up I play ultra conservative to preserve up days. My question for anyone on this board is "has anyone that has been profitable consistently come across a rut like the one I am experiencing, and what worked for you to get back on track? Or have I just lost my touch?

2. Why did you change something that was working for you ?

You took a perfectly sound approach and eclipsed it with something useless.

Go back and find the winner inside you until you do let the loser trade on paper.

Anek

3. Dustin

Dustin

Yeah it happens. I often get these ruts where I go 2-10 weeks where I just fluctuate and end up breaking even. Usually it's when there's a lack of volatility, but in your case it sounds like the opposite.

During one of my good periods I printed up some charts of my best winners every day. When things stop working I refer back to them and see "yep, these charts just aren't happening right now" so I try to take it easy, or do they opposite (like reversals vs. breakouts).

You just have to figure out what it is that has changed and adapt or take it easy until your p/l gets constistent again.