NQ vs ES for getting started in futures

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by Brutus, Aug 12, 2002.

1. Brutus

Brutus

I recently started trading the NQ futures in beginning of July. But recently I have been considering switching to the ES futures. The ES futures seem to be less spikey than the NQ.

I am curious about the opinions other people have about the two. What do you like and don't like about the behavior of each.

Thanks ...

Brutus

2. Hi Brutus

Why not trade both?

Meaning...if your monitoring both charts and one particular one has the better trade setup or a trade setup when the other doesn't...it's obvious which one you should trade for that particular trade setup.

It's something I've recently been doing for the past few weeks. Works well.

As a discretionary trader...sometimes I may see a picture perfect trade setup in one when the other is doing the opposite...it's these trade setups I ignore because I want both the price of the ES or NQ to be moving in the same direction.

Then...if they are moving in the same direction and I see a particular trade setup in one...I trade the particular Emini that has the trade setup or better trade setup.

I guess it comes down to your own trades setups (strategies)...they themselves should determine which you will trade at a particular time during the trading day.

Today I traded both with more success in the ES than the NQ.

Yet, I have notice that during low volatility...the ES has the clearer Japanese Candlestick trade setups and during high volatility the NQ has the clearer Japanese Candlestick trade setups.

NiihabaAshi

3. I trade both now, but started with ES, which I'd recommend for getting your feet wet. As observed, NQ tends to be more sporadic and volatile than ES. However, if you use a trading system that works with NQ, I don't see any reason not to trade it.