Novice needs some Real Estate advice

Discussion in 'Economics' started by JJSea, Feb 6, 2006.

1. JJSea

JJSea

Hello. I'm totally new to investing (having inherited a little bit of money) and would like a little real estate advice, if possible.

I'm in the Seattle area, which has been appreciating out of sight the past couple years. They expect a slowdown, but it hasn't happened yet. I really need to buy some sort of a place to live (not strictly an investment, I need a primary residence, having been a renter all my life). I seem to have lingered a little too long looking about these past couple years and now interest rates are inching up, and prices as well, making it more difficult, as I have a very modest income. My investment advisor says not to buy right now, wait till things come down a little, but I don't see them doing that, they only ever seem to go up, and I'm afraid I will miss the bottom rung of the ladder.

Should I go for broke and try and get in now while things are at their "peak", or hang about another six months or a year and hope for a price drop? Just curious to see what you money-savvy folks might have to say.

Also, I was wondering how feasible the idea might be of finding an investor to go in with me on a property, since I would ideally like to try and build. Are there people around who might want to buy the land as an investment, with me building a little house on it, and share the equity? I have enough to build a house, but not buy the land with it (land prices are getting real high here, too). Is this a good idea or totally impractical?

Thanks for any advice!

JJSea

2. You need to figure out what is greater rent or interest payments on a mortgage and then factor in taxes, insurance etc. In a lot of markets you will be further ahead renting.

3. Well, you need to re-orient yourself as regards real estate.
    Its never a good idea to "go for broke" in any market much less a real estate market in that is in the late innings.