not part of the eurozone

Discussion in 'Economics' started by alekk, Oct 31, 2009.

1. alekk

alekk

what are the main economics reasons why the UK does not want to be part of the eurozone ?

2. morganist

morganist Guest

there are a lot. first of all it will cost more.

second they will be subject to the ECB and there monetary management. this means they will have one interest rate for the whole of eu this will affect uk as it has high levels of debt so a small alteration for other areas will affect the uk much more. it would be catastrophic think how highly geared mortgages are.

third we would financial services and the forex would be affected.

3. morganist

morganist Guest

this website will help.

http://www.brugesgroup.com/

the guy in charge is called robert oulds he will probably be the best person to ask and will provide you docs if you are interested.

4. alekk

alekk

@Morganist: thank you very much for your answer. I am totally new to economics, so may I ask you some more questions as I think I have not understood your answers:
    What will cost more ?

Are you talking about the national debt of the UK. Isn't it very similar to many other countries in the Eurozone: debt of France,Germany ~ 70% of GDP, Italia has a national debt that is more than 100% of its GDP, etc ...

What do you mean here? Does the UK make a lot of money on the forex market ?

again, sorry again for these surely very stupid questions.

5. morganist

morganist Guest

there is a cost to be in the eu it will grow if we enter. i don't know the ins and outs you will have to go to the bruges group they have the figures. it costs something like forty million a day at the moment.