Noob question about a Straddle

Discussion in 'Options' started by pstvthnk12, May 11, 2022.

1. Hey guys I'm just getting started trading options but already running into some things I don't get.

This is a paper trade I placed on thinkorswim. I'm trying to create a Straddle where I'm basically neutral on direction of the market. I'm just looking for this stock to move up or down sharply.
    upload_2022-5-11_13-30-18.png

Where I am confused is the delta.... the delta of the Puts is much higher than of the Calls. Does that mean I should have bought less Puts? Is that the key thing to make sure that the position is market neutral?

2. MrMuppet

MrMuppet

oh boy, I hate to rain on your parade but you have a looong way to go.

Before you do anything in options, make sure you really understand what drives prices. I know that it may sound appealing to a beginner that you can buy a put and a call and just wait for the stock to move.

When you trade options, you ALWAYS have a relative value bet. Stock moves 5% either way, but what if the options you just bought implied a move of 10%?

You got the stock right but you were buying too much for the options. So please, please with a cherry on top educate yourself. Start with Sheldon Natenbergs Options Volatility and Pricing and then decide if you really want to go down that route.

To your question:

I mean, as far as I can see, you have bought 12 calls and 70 puts so it seems pretty obvious that you have more short deltas than long deltas, no?

BlueWaterSailor likes this.
  3. dude, SWCH is the subject of a buyout.

generally not a good candidate for a straddle

4. Sheldon Natenbergs Options Volatility and Pricing, uh, kinda the deep end of the pool for a noob , no ?

5. "I want to be a doctor, but I don't understand all this "anatomy", "physiology", and "pharmacology" stuff. Can't I just pick up a scalpel and start cutting on people?" :)