Non RT platform for backtesting of EOD tick data

Discussion in 'Data Sets and Feeds' started by empirical, Sep 6, 2010.

1. empirical

empirical

Hi

This is my first post here. Would be glad if any advice could be given. I am trying to backtest a few major forex currency pairs. I am a newbie to backtesting except on MT4 platform which has its limitations. If one can choose the most accurate timeframe of data to test, it has to be tick data although it might not be practical for certain aspects.

Requirements
    1.Platform able to import and backtest 3rd party EOD tick data (not by interpolation from high TF of course)
    2.Support portfolio testing and simultaneous money management
    3.Non lease based, one time purchase, no requirements for RT data

I have read through many forum reviews and posts, tested a few platforms

1.Tradestation Ver 8:
    Did not succeed in even importing ASCII file despite trying solutions i can find on the net. Also seems to be a general bias that platform is not as up to date with its competitors.

2.AMIbroker
    Tried out the demo, had an email reply too from them that it can support tick data backtest on full version,by adding an AFL code to do so in the default format file. (can anyone concur that this can import and backtest tick data granularity?)

3.NinjaTrader
    Did not try out demo, read about its limitations and also issues about the market replay mode

4.Forex tester Ver 2.5
    Apparently does not support tick data, new ver 2.6 which is not officially launched is able to do so but apparently only by monthly subscription from designated data feeds, not sure whether able to import though. Not to mention portfolio and money management is out of the question.

Seems like amibroker is the only one i know that fulfills my requirements, need advice on this.