non-mainstream views on ET?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by xenix, Jul 20, 2009.

1. xenix

xenix

I was recently on another finance type forum and realized that most of the people there had some views that were pretty far off the beaten path.

What I mean is, most people in the industry who have been formally trained will disagree about a lot of things but they have a certain amount of common ground. For example, no one really believes that we should go back to the gold standard. It's just ridiculous. Nobody thinks that every move of the market is the result of a government conspiracy or that big banks or broker-dealers control the Federal Reserve.

It seems the more people you have who are "self-taught", the more ridiculous the consensus view for that community tends to be.

It's like learning about something from an infomercial. I've seen very convincing ads for magnetic bands that are supposed to cure everything from arthritis to constipation. If you didn't know any better, there's a good chance you would believe them.

But that's human nature. If you don't know anything about a subject, you tend to believe the first person who takes the time to teach you. The problem is that for most of these people, it's less like learning and more like imprinting - where an animal believes that it's the same species as whoever is taking care of it. Imprinting can't be unlearned. In the same way, these people persist in their beliefs even in the face of evidence to the contrary. They simply impugne the source of the information or it's accuracy.