No futures industry equivalent to SIPC

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by Kicking, Sep 16, 2001.

1. Which futures brokers can you entrust with your hard earned money? I recently found out that there is no account protection whatsoever with a FCM. Here is the CFTC's required notice you may find buried in your customer agreement: YOU SHOULD KNOW THAT IN THE UNLIKELY EVENT OF THIS COMPANY'S BANKRUPTCY, PROPERTY, INCLUDING PROPERTY SPECIFICALLY TRACEABLE TO YOU, WILL BE RETURNED, TRANSFERRED OR DISTRIBUTED TO YOU, OR ON YOUR BEHALF, ONLY TO THE EXTENT OF YOUR PRO RATA SHARE OF ALL PROPERTY AVAILABLE FOR DISTRIBUTION TO CUSTOMERS. (B) NOTICE CONCERNING THE TERMS FOR THE RETURN OF SPECIFICALLY IDENTIFIABLE PROPERTY WILL BE MADE BY PUBLICATION IN A NEWSPAPER OF GENERAL CIRCULATION.

I am new to futures trading mainly because of the 25K rule and as I looked around for a broker I was surprised that most of them do not mention the fact that there is no account protection. I already knew that many futures brokers still have very questionable business practices but I find this quite misleading for example IB advertises on its home page a $10 million account protection but doesn't mention at all that it's only for equities.
    This upsets me because I really don't want to see my life savings disappear with a clearing firm or broker's bankruptcy, and I am not even talking about a collapse of the entire financial system which after what happened last week is not entirely far fetched.
    Now I understand Marty Schwartz 's obsession with gold in his biography "Pit Bull".

2. JayS

JayS

3. gemini_315

gemini_315 Guest

Kicking,

I was also very surprised to find out the same when I did some research on this a few months ago.