No dealing desk brokers

Discussion in 'Forex Brokers' started by fissure, Feb 27, 2012.

1. fissure

fissure

Hi, I've been looking to get into trading fx, tried a demo account for about a month with one of the large brokers and did quite well, would like to try a live account with a small stake to start. I'm still a relative newb to forex but I do know that I would feel a lot more comfortable being with a no dealing desk broker, I've read too many accusations on boards that I don't want to have to second guess anything regarding my trades.

Currently I'm looking at MBT and Oanda.

Two problems though, MBT doesn't appear to be available to Canadians as Canada is not listed in their account opening process.......can anyone confirm? And the other is that I have not been able to determine if Oanda takes the other side of client trades or not, searched their site and couldn't find a clear answer, forum posts have not been clear either, any input is appreciated.

2. TRS

TRS

Canadian residents cannot trade spot fx with mbt

http://www.mbtrading.com/forexAccountTypes.aspx

click on restricted country hypertext.

Oanda will attempt to match orders in house and will aggregate trades.

there is a lot of information on the net regarding oanda and their trade mechanisms.

3. Canadian here...

Yeah, as the other poster said, MBT doesn't take Canadian clients.

Oanda is great for their spreads but they tend to get wide during non-active times. They say it's because liquidity drys up in the market, but a few different ECNs I trade with have great liquidity during these times.

Plus, it's a tad annoying when they widen their spreads to 10 pips on the majors during news releases...

I understand why they do this, and how it fits in their system, so I don't blame them... I just find it annoying.

As a bonus (and you don't have to be an Oanda user to view it) there's Oanda's fxLabs:

http://fxtrade.oanda.com/analysis/labs/