NKE Puts

Discussion in 'Options' started by swimmus, Mar 26, 2007.

1. swimmus

swimmus

Hello, I am primarily a swing trader but I think NKE will drop after the upcoming split and wanted to buy some puts to capture the fall. Questions:

If I buy in the money puts, do I stay within a month or two.

If Out of the money puts- how far out.

I typically would short it, but I think my timing may be off a littler and think that options could reduce my risk.

I know very little about the Greeks but enough about options that a swing play could pan out well. Just not sure best route to take.

Anyone can offer some help?

2. This is a lot like asking, "I think a stock will go up, how many shares should I buy?"

How much risk are you willing to take? How much money do you want to make when you're right? How fast do you think it will move?

The choice of strike and expiration is a balance of all 3 of those questions.

3. swimmus

swimmus

Ok, fair enough

I expect 10-15% drop, time frame about 1 month from split (give or take)

I was thinking of buying May 110 puts

4. spindr0

spindr0

Those are the 2 big issues to consider for option buying. IV is another, but for simplicity, let's ignore it.

If you are certain of your time frame, go with a shorter month. If not, go with a longer month.

As for which strike to buy, the OTM put will give you a greater percentage gain if NKE drops substantially and conversely, it will be a big loser if it doesn't. The ITM put will do better if there's only a small drop but could lose more, dollar wise, if NKE rises.

All of this would be evident if you had an option graphing program since a picture is worth a 1,000 words :->)

The poor man's way to get an idea of what might happen is to look at an option chain and extrapolate some possibilities. From today's closing quotes:

NKE 108.80

Apr 110p 2.40 - 2.55
    Apr 115p 6.20 - 6.40

May 105p 1.25 - 1.35
    May 110p 3.10 - 3.30
    May 115p 6.40 -6.60