Nite Session U.S. Index Futures

Discussion in 'Journals' started by osorico, May 7, 2007.

1. I've been simming YM nite session for about 2 months. Now, it's time to go live. This journal will attempt to chronicle the undertaking.

This is a no-obligation-to-post, no-obligation-to-prove journal. It is not intended to be live calls or anything of the sort. This will remain fun and pressure-free for me, (and maybe useful), or I'll simply close it.

1) Nite session only. Sometimes I'll be awake (and maybe stay awake) other times I won't. Signals may or may present themselves during these limited times.

2) I will attempt to post trades as close to actual time as possible. Where appropriate, I will timestamp using a 24hr clock, based on EST.

3) I will not carry any trade into RTH. Trades put on during the nite session will be closed prior to RTH open. I can think of a few scenarios where this may not be the right thing to do, if you consider pre-market, as I do, part of the nite session. I will cross this bridge as it presents itself, case-by-case.

Trading methodology:

Due to nite session being (usually) volume deprived, I will be using completely different setups than those used by myself during the day.

P&F charts and range-bar charts will be used almost exclusively. No indicators, no moving averages, etc. Although I do use "equivolume" range bars. Here's a pdf by equivolume founder.

For the curious, the volume issue tends to expand development time needed for scalps/swings. During the day, time (duration, not clock) is also a factor in my trading. The use of P&F removes both time and volume from the equation relying only on price, and my equivolume range-bar setup removes time while preserving potentially useful volume information for confirmation.

Osorico

2. 5/7/07 23:25 EST

Not impressed with YM trade potentials right now.