Ninjatrader Chart With IB Datafeed

Discussion in 'Data Sets and Feeds' started by Rickwitties, Dec 13, 2009.

1. Using IB datafeed, is NT able to produce accurate price bar charts which do not miss any traded prices, especially for the shortest timeframes?

I`m aware of IB`data aggregation methods and how it affects their charts in lag and in accuracy of tick/volume but my interest here is purely price.

Any input from NT users would be appreciated.
    As I intend to use the trial version first, if anyone knew whether there were any differences with the paid one would also be of help. Thanks.

2. Yes it is. You will not have any issues. That is the setup I use. I have used both the trial and the paid for NT and the only difference is you can do live trading with the subscription.

3. I missed the HOD price of NQ by 2 ticks because of ???. I'm no expert but saw as NQ spiked up several points (about 4 or 5) in several seconds. About twenty minutes later checked HOD price on web and found my Ninja chart showed 2 ticks less than actual HOD. Then I refreshed the Ninja chart and it went to actual HOD.

This is the only one I caught like this but I suspect it happens more often than I know particularly in volatile markets. I'm not complaining at all as I'm on IB's free data (with appropriate trade levels met), and Ninja free charting. But like you, I need to know what can be expected.

My charts affected were 5min time frames. I don't recall about the 15min, but suspect it was there too because missed is missed.

4. Thanks for the feedback guys.

Also trade NQ intraday and although I only do several positional type trades a day, as opposed to scalping, it all unneccessarily adds up in terms of slippage or missed exits/entries.