Next step in a newbie's quest for glory

Discussion in 'Forex' started by mauzj, Sep 22, 2003.

1. mauzj

mauzj

Hi,

I've been trading with Oanda (real cash) for a couple of months. I am exclusively using technical analysis and risk 0.5% per trade. My planned holding period is just a few days. I do all charting on Sunday, place my orders, and then let the trades go.

The problem is that I'm down 2% and keep on losing. What would be the next best step in my education? Should I start learning fundamentals/economics? If so, could anyone recommend any good books or websites?

Thanks in advance,

Mauzj.

2. we need to know more. whats your style? are you chasing hot stocks?

3. mauzj

mauzj

vhehn,

I'm attempting to master the art of Swing Trading the Forex markets. I don't trade stocks.

Mauzj.

4. forex is no place for beginners.

5. mauzj

mauzj

Thank you for your positive feedback.

6. nkhoi

nkhoi

hook up with baggerlord?

7. While paper trading is not the same as real trading (the emotions are different), you need to turn a profit on paper before you can do it with real money.. have you done this? A monthly paper profit?

8. TD80

TD80

I think peter has a solid suggestion, I would go so far as to say make sure you are fantastically profitable on paper with very minimal risk and drawdown before moving into real money trading with forex. The real tricky part to forex which will not show up in paper trades is the leverage, you see once you get greedy you'll be likely to run a hand with some ludicrous (200:1 anyone?) leverage, and the hand will go cold. Then the true test of your abilities will come to light. I don't want to discourage you too much, but as a beginner, the odds are solidly stacked that you will blow out with that much leverage on tap.