News scraper?

Discussion in 'Wall St. News' started by SweetMoney, Aug 19, 2020.

1. Hi guys,

We all like to discuss and read news with comments etc.

I'm a single father software engineer who wants to start my own startup. Spent 15 years working on the trading floors with traders.

Question: would you suggest me develop a product which scans most important news sources (defined by a trader) and deliver it to that trader.
    The difference between this "NewsScraper" and say Bloomberg or Thomson is that they just bombard you with news flow. My software will be scanning market moving articles and tweets. This is not for HFT! This is so a trader controls and surveillance his position and market he's in.

I'm thinking about making it free (ad based) or/and subscription based.

Please forgive me if it's a wrong topic for this question. I'm very new to this forum.

2. Bad_Badness

Bad_Badness

It is almost as if it could be after the fact. I.e. an index moving is the filter to find the news event that should be reported. You would have about 5 seconds to find and report to make it useful. Any faster is not being that useful for the people who you are targeting; because the ones that already known (not targeted), have a feed already or know what to watch.

But to be actionable, is the key. Is this a shock-bounce or a trend starting, e.g.

Personally, I never look for the "answer" to why something is moving, I just trade it or step aside, because I don't have such a feed that is highly filtered. Squawk box was the closest thing I used.

Cheers

PS: I worked software development too.

3. maxinger

maxinger

Unfortunately most market movement is not due to economic data release.
    In fact, market could move due to unknown / hidden / secret news.

even for major economic data release,
    most of the time, market hardly move after data release.

after many years, I found that the best
    solution is to glue backside to the trading chair, and eyes