Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by b1kbk, Oct 9, 2005.

1. b1kbk

b1kbk

My questions are from the ultimate novice.
    I have no real trading experience, and I have no programming experience. I am looking for recommendations to get started in trading with an automated platform. I am open to recommendations and although I was intending on trading stocks I am open to other markets.
    I have looked at tradestation, rockwelltrading, and ninjatrader. I have read on the site that you can "walk away" from your computer and let it trade for you, is this true?
    I have looked at rockwell because they have an intraday with small account sizes. What size account is needed for your software recommendations? I hope this forum is forgiving, I know these are bottom of the barrel Q's, but I need to learn somewhere.
    thanks
    H

2. Why don't you study some books first? Or do you want somebody to just drop some cash in your acct?

3. That's a harsh reply.

b1kbk--I think naz stocks is a good place to start and you can automate your strategies with many appl. It all depends what you prefer.

IB offers you API which has a good rep, but many others are available, it just depends on what you are looking for.

Tradestation also offer on-line instructions on how to make your first steps into learning the appl. language.

Mind you I have no experience whatsoever in auto-trading and there are some here on ET who program trade and know better; I hope you'll get some advice from them.

Good luck!
    P

4. zdreg

zdreg

risktaker is exactly right. do some research(including on this board) before posting