Discussion in 'Trading' started by leflos, Jan 17, 2019.

What's most essential before placing a trade?

1. Technicals

9 vote(s)
    69.2%
  2. Fundamentals

1 vote(s)
    7.7%
  3. News

2 vote(s)
    15.4%
  4. Volume

1 vote(s)
    7.7%
  1. leflos

leflos

Hey guys,

I've been daytrading for almost 3 months now. I'm not a professionnal or anything. This is my opinion. So, I see lots of people talking about technicals on how they draw on the chart to analyse the instrument, people also use fundamentals to invest in high debt companies or whatever. My point is, few people talk about ''chasing news'' in general. Basically, my approach is I try to daytrade according to news atm. I found that the correlation is enormous. Does anyone else does that?

I still use things like RSI, MAs, Volume but these are just for my entry/exits.

For example, look at CGC news, they all correlate with high upswings,

My question sounds specific but really, i'm just trying to get some opinions on how people operate when comes time to choose a winner.

2. Is that a quantified correlation or just a feeling?

murray t turtle likes this.
  3. leflos

leflos

Not familiar with the term but I'd say the correlation is usually on point, it goes by logic too. If X company gets Y license in an important area and you get the information on a short delay. I think it gives you better chance of success.

** Also, as a new trader like myself, it gives you something concrete to hold on when facing decisions.

Last edited: Jan 17, 2019
  4. Overnight

Overnight

You forgot to pre-amble your question with whether your 3 months of day-trading has been successful or not.

If so, do not ask any questions. If you wish to make more money doing it, then do exactly what you are doing, but just increase your position size. The more ideas you get in your head from outside sources, the more it will mess up the good thing you have going.

Only start to ask questions when things are going terribly wrong for you.