Newbie ... would like a critique

Discussion in 'Trading' started by rayearth, Jun 16, 2008.

1. rayearth

rayearth

Some background:
    I just started learning about financials starting about 1 year ago. Started with going long on GLD on Sharebuilder, but got dissatisfied with its very limited options. Moved on to MB Trading in March and opened a daytrading account.

Software: MB Navigator and Quotetracker.
    Subscriptions: Jeff Cooper's Daily Report to Minyanville (not that I'm using it very much).

Performance: +30% over 700 trades net of fees in 3 months. Note, I am doing this while trading 7-30% of liquid capital on SKF <b>only</b>. Occasionally held over night but most days not. Most of the time long but recently started shorting (feels odd to short an ultrashort ETF). This is while using ~<1 hr/day of time at the computer and 2 full days a month. Please note that I have a full time job working with people and so I cannot spend all day at the screen.

I could use some critique as I'm slowly gaining confidence for larger positions and possibly try my hand at options. I have not done forex, commodities, etc. I need to do some studying but there are way too many books out there. Any suggestions?

2. well it sounds like you have done a good job with your fundamental base. you have also certainly been good with following trends rather than fighting them so just based on that i would have to give you an A+++. i'm being serious too. for a first year guy i think that is great.