Newbie with questions about Prop firms

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by xbrxx, Jun 9, 2003.

1. xbrxx

xbrxx

I've been trading on and off for about 4 years now. The reason why I haven't been able to trade consistently full time is because I was finishing my degree and working full time to save up some dough. Anyways, I recently just graduated, and stowed enough money to pursue trading full time. I personally think the way to go for me was to head to a prop firm and perhaps get some insight and some training rather than going off by myself. So about 2 months ago I went in with an interview with WorldCo. They said they'll give me a shot with some capital up front, which i was willing to do. So, I sent them my paperwork and etc, and now in the process of waiting for them to finish it up so I can take my series 7, which i am more than ready for at this point.

So, at this point, i'm just pretty much waiting for them. And I've called them several times, and their HR department seems like they have no clue what they are doing. So, usually how long does it take before you get to take your Series 7? I've been waiting for over a month and a half. Just wondering if this is a sign for me to perhaps persue another firm. From what I've read others have been saying regarding WorldCo, and it has given me second thoughts about starting off at WorldCo. I've thought about checking out Echotrade and Bright Trading.

Any thoughts or comments will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
    xbrxx

2. Take your time and don't rush into it.

Congratulations on your degree and your determination to work hard and save up the money to trade fulltime. That's great!!

Regarding your situation with Worldco. It's not a good sign when you have second thoughts about a broker before you even open up the account.

(If you have any questions regarding the series 7 exam. Call the NASD directly. They will lead you in the right direction)