Newbie Tax Questions

Discussion in 'Taxes and Accounting' started by vanilla2, Aug 3, 2003.

1. I am still in my first year as an non-professional, non mark to market, independent futures trader, and have not yet filed taxes as a trader.

I had a few general questions if anyone could lend some advice.

1. I trade through IB. Is it ok if I'm saving my daily and monthly statements in HTML format, or have you found the Excel format better to work with come tax time?

2. What is my best option for tax software, does anybody do their trading taxes through Turbotax, or am I better off with a product like Greentradertax? ...better yet, am I simply better off getting an accountant for the first time to make sure I don't miss any good deductions or optimal tax structures?

3. Should I be paying taxes quarterly, or is April fine?

What a mess this will be. Any advice is definitely welcome.

2. In my opinion If you are trading futures only, you do not have to claim MTM trading approach, because futures such as emini are not subject to wash sale and you pay lower taxes, this year taxes are even lower, if you are doing stocks you have to claim MTM status. You do need to file your taxes quarterly. For your trading record keeping consider GTt tradelog from green trader tax. The question of going to an accountant is personal, not most accountants know how of trading taxation. I do my taxes myself for the past three years and so far no trouble. Green trader is good in trader taxation and you may want to consider them.
    Good luck

3. i use turbo tax for trading taxes. it works just fine.i think people should do or at least know how to do their taxes. that gives you an understanding of how to maximize you tax advantages throughout the year.