Newbie stock day trader needs assistance. . .

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by LivToTrade, Feb 15, 2001.

1. I'm a newbie to day trading stocks, although I've day traded commodity futures for years. I stumbled on to this site and started reading these threads and was totally impressed by the volume and quality of information. I registered immediately. Before I had the problem of not enough information, now I've got too much. I would really appreciate your opinion as to how to start out day and swing trading with a demo trade station. I downloaded the latest version of Cybertrader and thought that it might be a good one to demo because you have access to discussion groups and the manual looks very comprehensive. However, I'm aware of the mixed reviews Cybercorp has received in a number of these threads.

Let me rephrase my question this way: If you were starting all over again, and wanted to begin by demo trading, what trading platform or software would you use.

2. Lancer

Lancer

If you're ready for a platform like CyberTrader, also consider RealTick. Give MBTrading a call at 888-790-4800 (or other RealTick broker of your choice). Ask about a TALX demo for RealTick. TALX is a mock execution "route" that is not promoted but is available for practice in RealTick. (TALX: Townsend Analytics Ltd. Exchange) This may not be what you're looking for, but its one option.

When I started, I considered many brokers and software platforms and went with MBTrading and RealTick. Knowing a whole lot more now, I'd still make that same choice again today. Good luck.

3. Lancer, thank you for your response to my question. You say I should also consider RealTick. Does that mean you prefer it over the CyberTrader simulator? If so, I would appreciate knowing why its better. I'm just trying to learn. In any event I'll be calling MB Trading and thanks again. LivToTrade

4. Lancer

Lancer