Newbie question

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by DrOfBacon, Jul 26, 2005.

1. DrOfBacon

DrOfBacon

Hi,

A few months ago I became interested in the stock market, I joined sharebuilder and just lat month I bought my first two stocks (IMAX and ATVI), since that time I have learned that I am going to recieve a pretty decent amount of money (roughly 100K after taxes) that I would like to invest. Since I am a total newbie I started doing some google searches and quickly came across a bunch of get rich quick sites like mrswing.com, besttrader.com, worldsbestjob... blah blah blah, being the skeptic that I am I downloaded all of their free trial software etc.. so that I could study and learn the stock market and just get a feel for everything. Eventually after several weeks of searches I stumbled across the ET site and I must say that I am quite impressed, I have been scouring the forums reading every thread that seemed revelant to me trying to pick up bits and pieces of information. So now I have decided to make my first post and ask for some advice.... As someone who is new to the markets what do you guys recommend that I study? Any book recommendations, websites etc... Also as someone who is new to all of this, roughly what kind of annual gain should I be looking/expecting to make? I know that this is hard to say as the possibilites of gaining and losing money are limitless but what is a good target percentage? One thing that i have learned from reading all of the past posts etc.. is that i don't know sh*t and knowing that I don't know sh*t is going to keep me from investing one more dollar into the market untill I have the confidnece and knowledge to do so. One thing that I know I need to start doing is paper trading and I plan on starting on that next Monday.
    Any and all advice is welcome and much appreciated!

Thanks,

2. HEllo DrOfBacon,