Newbie question

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by pcll99, Apr 21, 2019.

1. pcll99

pcll99

Hi! This is my first post.

Is there a FAQ or a thread for newie?

I have 20 years of experiences in C/C++, but I have never try algorithmic trading before. How do I get started?

Are there some books I could read? thanks...

is the FX market a better place to start than the equity market?

Last edited: Apr 21, 2019
    murray t turtle likes this.
  2. I do not use Algo's or know much about coding... But Algo's is for Institutions only, as a Retail your target should be quality trades, not quantity. You aren't gonna be allocating 2 Billion, with 20-30 positions open at any given time, how can a Code enhance your trading performance on a small scale ?

Learn macro, learn how to analyze momentum, master 3 sectors... Remember you don't have to know everything, you just have to know your industries really well, then you trade what you really know. Options and Equities are the best way to rise quickly, Commodities when it's an obvious cyclical situation, FX is straight gambling in my opinion for the Retail

If you are a freak and like to spend hours analyzing, and are serious about this... I recommend getting a Analyzing Program, I use QuoteStream and pay 80 something a month for my Data, I am sure you can find some on this site, ask Bob Morse or Baron they can help you better with that. Trade Value for me is the most Important Factor in determining the change in trend, when you look at charts, it just shows you candles or lines going up or down with MA and some other things not too relevent imo, doesn't say anything really. When you look at Trade Value although it is finessed sometimes by HFT, you can instantly see the wave on either side of the trend

Ill post pics in next reply to show you example, on how to spot a trend through Trade Value... This example is a really good Company, Iridium Satellite, IRDM Ticker, momentum on the uptrend