newbie question regarding % profit or loss

Discussion in 'Forex' started by trc49492, Jun 28, 2005.

1. trc49492

trc49492

i am a newbie to forex..

is there an easy way or calculator to determine what percent gain or loss I currently have on an open position???

for some reason all they seem to talk about is pips profit and loss...

whereas it seems the most important thing is percent you are up or down..

for example...:

lets say you buy 1 lot of EUR/ USD at 1.2055 and that you sell

at 1.2300

so i think that means 100,000 euro long

how do I calculate how much percent I am up on this trade?

TIA

2. I go by profit or loss based on account balance not each trade. Example:

$1000 in account and you have an open trade that pays $1.00 per pip and you are up 10 pips ($10.00). Current profit = 1%

Same trade but a $10,000 acount balance. Current profit = 0.1%

3. Here's one good forex P&L calculator:

http://www.oanda.com/products/fxmath/profit.shtml

Note: 1 lot = 100,000 units.

In your example, profit is USD 2,450. Divide that P&L number by your beginning account balance, before the trade, to get % return at the account level.

If you really wanted to know % return for this trade, you could divide that P&L by the amount of capital employed, i.e., margin used.

E.g., at 2% margin (50:1 leverage), you would need at least $120,550 x 2% = $2,411 in available funds, in order to buy 1 lot of EUR/USD @1.2055. Your % return for this trade then would be $2,450 / $2,411 = 102%. (Which is exactly what you'd expect from capturing a 2.03% move at 50:1 leverage.)

4. Look at this Journal for a spreadsheet that calculates lots of stuff...

http://www.elitetrader.com/vb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=48230

Michael B.

5. You're asking 2 questions and also have one alternate ending.

Let's take your 1st Q.

is there an easy way or calculator to determine what percent gain or loss I currently have on an open position???