Newbie Question About High-Volume Penny Stocks

Discussion in 'Educational Resources' started by firelord314, Feb 20, 2010.

1. Hello-

I'm just a lowly college student, but I'll soon have enough money saved away to begin investing. While I wait, I've been playing around with an investment simulator.

In the past week, I've noticed a pattern in certain highly-traded low-price stocks: they oscillate rapidly between two prices (usually 1 cent apart). Fannie Mae (FNM) is a good example: it spent most of Friday bouncing between $1.01 and $1.02. I tried looking ask/bid prices up on Yahoo, but it just gave me “N/A”.

I'm deeply suspicious of this behavior; it seems WAY too easy to scalp a 1% profit in the span of 10 minutes. But, the Investopedia simulator seems to think I can do just that.

So, my question: is this “real” behavior? If it is, what are the limitations of trading on it? If it isn't, what causes the illusion?

Thanks for your time!

2. Assuming that the Investopedia fills you instantaneously at bid/ask. In live trading, you have to wait in queue.

3. IMO, 2 issues, but could be good

1. The cost of trading subdollar stocks, and the small spreads that they have, subdollar you are looking at hundreds of a cent. Yahoo rounds. Your cost on both sides of the trade will destroy a lot of the profits. You will need to make a cent on 2000+ shares minimum with 10$ a trade. If you go with a big company that changes prevailing market rates plus a couple tenths of a cent commision you are going to need to trade a monster amount of shares for this to be worth your while. And you will also need 25000 minimum as this is "day trading".

2. That your queue is going to be massive, combined with your inability (I assume) to not get the flash orders. You will be able to get some of the volumn, but you are not going to have to the advantages of the big boys.