newbie queries - brokers/commissions

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by paul_alan, May 31, 2007.

1. Hi guys.

I am looking into opening up and account with questrade. The allow UK citizens (me) to open up daytrading account with $5000 with no PDT restrictions (because they are Canadian i guess)

I did want to just trade 100share lots, but their commissions would eat me alive ($4.95 minimum) so I am thinking that when I start I will be trading around 300 to 500 share lots making the share/commission ratio more respectable.

I am new to direct access brokers and have a few questions.

*On the demo, sometimes I buy, for example 400 shares of a stock, and when i go to close the trade the platform breaks it up into 2 or 3 seperate executions. (e.g to cover the 400 shares it might say sold 200, sold 155 sold 45) The system then tells me that 4 executions have been made. Would this equal me paying more commissions? Does each execution carry the $4.95 ommission? If so that seems like a great way to rip people off. Im hoping im wrong.

*Do any of you brokers do this baring in mind im talking about a smallish number of shares.

*Anyone else here from the UK have an account with questrade? Opinions?

2. If you start out trading that kind of size, you will blow up before you get a chance to learn. Find a broker with more respectable commissions; when you get partial fills, yes, you'll get dicked on commissions. $10+ per round trip is prohibitively expensive; you might want to try a US based prop firm that lets you trade remotely instead.

3. Thanks for responding mate. At least now I know that partial fills do add to commissions.

Do they do it on purpose to rip people off? I have been demoing the directaccesselite platform and the questrade platform and it only really happens on the questrade platform.

Being from the UK i really dont know much about prop firms. Do they accept UK people? I can daytrade with less than $25k?

ta.

4. tiddlywinks

tiddlywinks