Newbie post (please don't flame me)

Discussion in 'Educational Resources' started by tsst04, Jul 19, 2008.

1. tsst04

tsst04

I'm a 22 year old kid. In Dallas, Texas. With a better-than-average paying job.

I make around 45k per year and have a take home income of about 2700 dollars per month. I do not owe rent, or any car payment. My monthly expenses truly equal = 0$. However, around 500 seems to always fly out the window towards beer, or a poker table.

My goal is to retire. Tommorrow. I'm still a college sophomore and I'm a full-time student alongside my full-time employment. I'd like to build my initial capital from scratch and start earning returns to further strengthen my "nest egg."

See, I have it pictured in my mind that I might be able to aggressively invest for the next 5-10 years in hopes of building enough wealth so that I wouldn't have to work if I could avoid it. By not work, I mean stay out of some damn office with a bunch of miserable corporate slaves just clawing at their skulls from 8am monday morning untill the final minutes of friday afternoon. I'm not cut out for that type of lifestlye and I would love to be able to volunteer my time, or work in a field that I'm truly passionate about....that might not pay very much.

Obviously, my question is...How would everyone here, given they were in my situation, go about accomplishing that goal? Like I said, I could save/invest/stuff in a mattress about 2k per month and I'm looking to build enough capital to provide some type of monthly gains in order to sustain a modest lifestlye.

2. I haven't made it yet but I'll try to make a few observations from what I've learned so far.