newbie--options

Discussion in 'Options' started by indo, Jun 16, 2007.

1. indo

indo

can you liquidate your position in option of a stock easily ie like stocks or are they hard to unload? furthermoe, what does it mean by open interest and how would one trade options? im very new to options and i would appreciate any help

2. indo

indo

i basically need an example.... for example lets say i have 200 shares in BBY at 48.10 ... now i want to hedge this position by buying puts for jan 2008 contracts. Which contract could i buy and what would it mean for me money wise if the stock goes up to 52 or 44.

your help would be appreciated thanks

3. nikko309

nikko309

1) can you liquidate your position in option of a stock easily ie like stocks or are they hard to unload?

If the current bid is acceptable, your contracts will sell immediately.

2) furthermoe, what does it mean by open interest?

Open interest represents the number of contracts in existence

3) and how would one trade options? im very new to options and i would appreciate any help

That $64 question is answered by reading as much as you can and learning about them.

4. nikko309

nikko309

If you want an answer for a move prior to expiration, you'll have to either provide a specific date, strike price and premium or learn how to use an option pricing model.

On an expiration basis, for an out of the money put, the risk would be the cost of the put plus the distance to strike. The gain would be the stock appreciation less the cost of the put.

5. It depends on the stock. BBY options are pretty liquid, and the bid-ask spreads on the Jan 08 puts are only 20 cents wide and have hundreds of contracts at the bid and ask. If you're looking to hedge 200 shares of a stock, you're only talking about buying 2 to 4 put contracts, so there's no problem with liquidity there.