Newbie needs help automating strategy.

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by Mike34, May 3, 2019.

1. Mike34

Mike34

In the hard to believe category, I'm exceptional at finding support and resistance and bad at trading them. I have ADD and compulsive behavior disorder and it prohibits me from exercising financial discipline and patience. I'm just looking to automate orders around support and resistance that also factor in some basic market internals into the decision making process. It's a little more complicated than that, but not by much, at least to start. I have zero programming background or knowledge and don't have any real interest in doing this myself. From my research, that's still in the early stages, it sounds like IB would be the best platform to use if you are placing 20-50 smaller trades a day due to their commission structure and technological capabilities. Does that sound right? Also, where do I look to hire somebody? I'm currently on TOS, but I imagine if I have my trading automated on IB, I cannot use the same ago on different platforms.

1- Is IB the best place to automate your trading?

2- Where can I find programmers?

Thanks in advance. From what I've read, people on this forum seem really helpful.

2. carrer

carrer

You'll find out very soon.

3. Robert Morse

Robert Morse Sponsor

If you pay someone to code to C++ you will be able to move to another broker if you choose to later as C++ is very common.

4. Snuskpelle

Snuskpelle

IB good enough to start with unless their cost structure prohibits you from being profitable (which can actually be pretty likely for frequent trading, then again you shouldn't be doing medium to high speed trading on IB due to latency).

If you're in the US Alpaca seems pretty cool since it lowers threshold for medium frequency algo trading dramatically. Haven't been able to try them though since I'm in Sweden.