Newbie needs advice

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Mitty, Mar 31, 2008.

1. Mitty

Mitty

Hello. Today, I will most likely lose my job as a Jr. Sales trader. I work(ed) at UBS for an institutional broker - my main job was to execute trades for hedge funds. I'm a recent grad (23) and I've been doing this for less than a year.

The broker will be leaving today and I have to decide what to do. Should I stick around and become another secretary or leave the firm.

I've seen ads on craigslist for Assent and I see an opportunity to work for myself and use my intelligence. However, I'm coming off a $1k loss in my personal portfolio (in which I've only had one trade, my first).

The thought of starting with $5 and using leverage is a scary as hell. I'm not sure what to expect. How long can I stay in a position? Do I have to enter and exit the position in the same session? How much do they charge? Is it per share? Hidden costs? What happens if I lose money beyond my equity right from the get go?

I'm sure some of you have been in this position if not all of you. I would appreciate any feedback or advice as this a big step and I'm not sure who I should talk to.

2. If your pursuit of Assent lands you in an Assent sub LLC, be weary of the "program" as a newbie. Commissions could be extremely high and the "mentoring" might be extremely immature, amateurish and way too narrow focused for newbies. This is not a dig on Assent or it's subs, just select your mentoring programs carefully.

3. Don't give up your "day job".

4. I second that motion.