newbie needs a critique

Discussion in 'Options' started by blackjack, Jul 1, 2001.

1. I'm brand new at options. I've never made an option trade.

I need a critique of the strategy I'm considering.

It has "too good to be true" written all over it. I'm seeking to find what the catch is.

The strategy involves buying covered calls in an IRA account.

Sample scnario:

$5K in IRA.

Buy 100 shares of XYZ at $50 for $5K.

Sell a covered call at, say 7%, with an expiration in the following calendar month.

Get $350 for the covered call (7% x $5k).

Some possible outcomes.

1) Price stays near $50, and you get $350, or 7% return on your money, or 84% annualized. That is outstanding! Am I missing something here?

2) Price goes way up, and option gets exercised. You get $350 for the option purchase price, AND you get amount of money between XYZ at $50 and whatever price the option was exercised at. You get much more than 7% on your investment--perhaps, say 12-15%, or more. Again, that is outstanding! Who cares if the option purchaser made money? You certainly got your cut.

3) Price goes way down. Let's say XYZ crops to $12.50, or 25% of $50.

On the surface of it, it looks like you got badly hurt. But wait!

Yes, you lost $3750 of your stock's value. This was partially offset by the $350 you received for selling the covered call, so you are down $3400. You now have stock worth $1250.

Now here is where I am not sure what I am talking about, but I don't think you are in hot water in this scenario.

Here's why:

If I understand correctly, you may continue to sell covered calls monthly for say 5-9% or so of the value of the stock. Let's say you could sell a covered call for 7% of $1250 ($1250 being the value of your stock). That would mean that you would make $87.50 that month on your badly devalued stock, which had been worth $5000.

This is not shabby!