Newbie Need Advise

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Jimmywangyang, Oct 21, 2010.

1. Hi, I currently a new college graduate taking a year off before going to law school. During this time I would like to learn day trading. I have a very basic understanding of securities and day trading, thus I am wondering if there are any books out there to help be get started from scratch? Perhaps the best way to get started is by jumping in with both feet?

Any advise would be greatly appreciated. I am a total newb at this game, but i am super interested and eager to learn. Thanks everyone.

- Pete

2. dave4532

dave4532

"Learning to profit from white noise with both feet in it", by Joe Broke, HFT publications, 2010.

This one will teach you a few good lessons happy aspirant...

3. As a recent college graduate, you will appreciate that you would be unlikely to succeed at the senior level courses if you had not taken the prerequisites.

My opinion is that you should learn and practice trading strategies that do not require split second decisions. Once you have the fundamentals and mechanics of trading under your belt, you can proceed to more aggressive and more time constrained strategies. It may take you more than a year to get to the graduate level of day trading.

4. EON Kid

EON Kid

5. A college degree in anything is extremely helpful but not a prerequisite. In trading, even the veterans like BigCohonas screw it up.
    Welcome aboard Jimmywangyang! [​IMG]

6. Hands down... Combine your new trading/learning experience with some sort of programming language. C# more than likely... Try openquant,rightedge or ninjatrader depending on what suits you best after reading about them. Even if you are going the discretionary route you'll find that you're going to want to at least automate some of your processes. I'd suggest tradestation or something similar but ultimately you'll want use a real programming language.