newbie looking for virtual mentor/ mentors

Discussion in 'Trading' started by shiko2000, Mar 20, 2010.

1. I think that posting this thread and telling what are my problem, how I see them and hopefully what other experienced and successful guys have to say can be very helpful to attain consistency and final success in my trading career.

I started trading in the end of January with new Title trading branch.
    Unfortunately as this branch is a brand new we have no experienced traders whatsoever and everyone is on their own. Admittedly floor manager is doing his best to teach what is in Title Level I Theory book, he is as new as we are and there is no systematic approach to training.
    Ok, I have been trading and learning on my own by reading and practicing. Actually , I was able to graduate to more than 100 shares last week. But so far I decided to stay with 100 shares in the light of the last 2 days.

I have not lost much in all this time. About $280.
    Actually 10 out 11 days before the last 2 days were winning ones with average 5-7 ticks daily.

Here was the problem as I was trying to have 10 and more net ticks daily. However i noticed, the moment I start pushing myself, I start losing and this is what happened in last 2 days.
    Before the day before yesterday i almost traded back this month loss but dropped into it again after 2 losing days. Lost $50 Thursday-Friday.

As I see it my problem is mostly of psychological nature. When I was winning I was so careful, I was letting trades go and was measuring 100 times and cutting once. Also, Once I achieved 5-7 ticks positive, I became scared to take other opportunities that existed and I saw them to avoid losing my measly 5-7 tick profit.

Then on Thursday, I decided f*ck it and started pushing, with bad results. I have been bouncing between being too careful and being reckless.

I also decided to trade 1 or may be 2-3 equities and no more. I concentrate on financial sector stocks. MS, FAZ and WFC.