Newbie looking for some friendly advice, please!!

Discussion in 'Forex' started by trder2be, Oct 6, 2007.

1. trder2be

trder2be

Hi everyone, I am completely new to this with trading. I first noticed this forum in june this year.

Having gained an interest in day trading I bought a book called "Daytrading the currency marked". I have tried to put it to use, but so far I have lost more on the demo accounts than I have gained. I have only traded in two demo accounts, namely fxdd and fxcm. And I first tried fxdd in the middle of august. So its soon three months since I started to try to get the hang of it. I know it takes some time to get the hang of, I have read everything from 2 months to 2 years on these forums.

I have printed out the eur/usd chart, the open-high-low-close numbers(5 minutes), so I could write them down by hand in a graph. Having read that that was one way you could learn to read price-action(I know this one might be a bit old fashioned).

And of course I have been testing out what I have read in the book, I have also looked on these forums for tips.

Now, I am wondering if I am doing anything wrong. I am starting to look for signs that I am picking up on anything, in my results or otherwise. But so far the only thing I have managed is to lose 8k$ on the fxdd demo account and 2k$ on the fxcm one.

So please, I'll be greatful for any advice:) ..

2. What are you trading? - Why are you trading?

What are your entry and exit criteria?

Have you ever traded stocks, options, or anything before?

What is your time frame? (15 minutes, 1 hour, the day)

What about day trading appeals to you as opposed to swing trading? And why Forex and not futures?

Answer those and you should get some good feedback... and not just from myself.
    :p

PS if you can post some sample trades that would give us a better look at what you are doing...

3. trder2be

trder2be