Newbie looking for some advice.

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by ColoradoGuy, Jan 19, 2007.

1. Hello:

I'm a 21 year old freshman finance major in college and have always been interested in the stock market. I have a few thousand dollars that I am looking to invest and am wondering if anyone would be willing to give some pointers on short-term trading, good books to read, etc. Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks for reading! :)

TranceNode@yahoo.com

2. Are you looking to invest or short term trade? You need to be more specific.

3. I learned a lot from Alexander Elder's "Trading For A Living". JMHO, but with only a few thousand you would be better served to not try and day trade right away. I would recommend to try and do swing trades. No matter what DO NOT use E-Trade. They are the worst broker on the market. Ameritrade is pretty good for a smaller account.

Good luck

Mike

4. More interested in learning about short-term trading right now. Long-term is also in the plan but later on down the road.

5. Yeah, swing trading is what I'm looking to do. With Ameritrade right now.

6. You need to follow the turtles. Its cheap and is from the succesful traders:

www.turtletrader.com

Colin

7. I'm so tired of these threads. ET really needs some sticky threads...why we dont already have them..who the hell knows.

8. Agree and these New Trader FAQ thread should be a sticky thread that's permanently at the top of all threads.

Mark