newbie looking for help

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by roscko, Dec 23, 2005.

1. roscko

roscko

I've been trading (mostly swing) for a couple of years and recently got into daytrading. I'm always getting ideas to program and backtest a trading strategy... But I have no background in computer programming, so I got esignal thinking EFS files could help, but its not that user-friendly. I've been able to modify a few strategies but thats about it.

Would anyone know about where I should start? Maybe another software then esignal, or a class/seminar I could take...

Please any advice would be appreciated

2. fatrat

fatrat

I've been porting code from TradeStation EL to E-Signal EFS & C++. TradeStation EL is an "easier" language to use; however, if you know nothing about programming, they all will require time and commitment.

To a programming beginner, I'd recommend TradeStation EL. Get some books to show you samples, and tweak them. Tweaking samples is actually the best way to do a lot of programming, so don't feel too bad if you can't just write something from scratch.

I've been writing software for years, and I will say that one thing is true: Most of the time, the sample code from a 3rd party software vendor is the best resource you have for figuring out how to implement something with their tools -- even better than their documentation, or books on the subject.

My experiences with EFS -- ... EFS isn't bad, but I don't think I'd tell a newbie to use it. You aren't going to find a lot of books out there with examples in EFS. In fact, most of the good trading systems I found, I found the code for AMIBroker or TradeStation EL. I'd read that code, and then rewrite it in EFS.