Newbie looking for advice

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by NEAsher, Sep 9, 2007.

1. NEAsher

NEAsher

Hi, guys. I’m a newbie, and this is my first post here. I’ve just been given an offer from a large prop firm, and I’m seriously considering it. I would be trading equities intraday, and I’m told that some experienced guys will be showing me the ropes. I have a fairly small bankroll, but the firm is offering heavy leverage. But the thing is, I don’t have any real experience with the stock market, other than long-term investing (which is very different from day trading). I recently read an article in the September 2007 issue of Trader Monthly Magazine about the Top-30-Under-30 Traders, and I noticed that I have very little in common with these professionals. Most of them come from elite educational institutions, but I do not. Most of them seem to have serious quant backgrounds – there are a lot of math and physics and technology whizzes among them. I, on the other hand, have almost no understanding of physics or mathematical models. I took basic college-level math. I can use a computer for only basic consumer applications, like the average young person. I also notice that some of these traders have a background in team sports, which I also don’t really have. I’m not sure what the correlation between team sports and successful trading is, but it seems to exist nonetheless.