Newbie here.

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by dazed101, May 7, 2006.

1. dazed101

dazed101

Hello, I'm new to trading and wondering if you guys can give me some tips.

What kind of trading would you guys suggest for a first timer? (forex? stocks? futures? options?)

I'm trying to learn forex right now. Which kind of trading did you start out with?

thanks

2. What kind of trading? The simulator kind.

3. Completely agreed until you learn a platform.

Simulated trading does not teach you psychological barriers of trading. I was confident on demo, then I switched to live in Futures, and got creamed. My confidence was so high that I started with 2 contracts instead of one.

Once you learn a platform, then move on to 100 shares of a stock of your choice and trade it for a few months and see if you made or lost money.

You trade futures, you lose a lot more money faster, you trade forex...... well... forex is a difficult market to trade if you don't know what you are doing. BUT, if you do stick with it, and open up a mini-account or something like Oanda and trade in the lowest amount possible, who knows.

Futures are just too highly leveraged. Either Equities with 100 shares, or Forex with the lowest amount possible.

Do it for about a few months, see where you at. Take note when you get greedy and move up in position and how much it will cost you.

Chances are you will blow up your account, so be aware of that and fund it with as little as possible.

I'd of course recommend getting around 3k - 5k together and go to a prop shop and trade 100 shares, that way you don't have to stick 25k in your account and you can trade as much or as little as you want.

I wish I started out doing that. So maybe you'd be the same.

4. dazed101

dazed101

so JMowery1987, you only trade stocks and haven't really tried forex?

5. Oh no, I've tried 'em all.

Futures, Forex, Equities. The only thing I have tried live is options.