Newbie here.

Discussion in 'Options' started by cramerica, Dec 26, 2010.

1. I am a small time trader, been doing it for about 20 years. I have always traded stocks but lately have been thinking about options. I joined Wall Street Survivor and have done pretty good there. I am not out to get rich, just make a little extra money. I understand basic options, I bought Cramer's book and do not understand the advanced at all. So I will stick with basic until I fully understand how the advanced works. The problem is, my broker (TD Ameritrade) only approved me to write covered calls and cash secured puts. That kind of defeats the whole purpose, if I could afford to buy 100 shares of Google I wouldn't need an options account. I think I am going to move my account to Scotttrade but they said they could not guarantee that I could do naked calls with them either. I understated everything with TD, income, experience etc. Should I over state with Scott in order to get approved. Will they check or do they just go by the info I give them? I am a big boy and understand the risk so I will only risk what I am willing to lose. Any help getting approved would be appreciated. TIA

2. drcha

drcha

I am not going to recommend in a public forum that you lie, but I will tell you that's what I did when I first started trading options, since I could not see any other way to get started.

But, as we do with trading sometimes, try to think about who is on the other side of your trade. The broker does these things because they are regulated, yes, but also to save their own skin. They do not want to you blow up. So don't blow up, OK?

Option prices change incredibly quickly. Stops will not help you much. So try to size your trades right and buy some wings.

3. drcha

drcha

Cramer will not help you either. When the shit hits the fan, you don't have time to go check the fundamentals again. So set some non-fuzzy rules and follow them.

4. Carl K

Carl K

Paper trade, and continue learning.