Newbie here, need some advice/thoughts

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by golfmontpoker, Aug 14, 2006.

1. Hello everyone, well met! Im currently a college student and my parents have agreed to loan me $1200 to get started on E*TRADE (What does everyone here use? Pros/Cons?). Anyways, I basically dont wanna make thousands, even though it would be nice. I just want to earn around $300 a week to live off of during school because I can't stand BS jobs anymore. What my strategy is basically is that im going to objectively analyze penny stocks to make a quick $60 profit a day or so. I suppose what I'm asking. Is it possible for me to buy a stock, for example, at like 1.02 a share and turn around a couple hours later and sell it at 1.46 and make a basic gain of around $80 (this is subtracting the trade fee). Does this seem viable and possible? Any input would be greatly appreciated!

2. do you really think trading is so easy that you'll be able to make money with a $1200 account? Not to mention the fact that you dont know how to trade. you need a reality check Golf, this is NOT likely at all.

3. Cheese

Cheese

Stick with your BS job and end your BS fantasies of getting something for more or less nothing.
    :)

4. So, you are looking to make 25% return every week? You may want to know that Warren Buffet is struggling to make that much in a year.

5. I guess you missed this line from his post

"for example, at like 1.02 a share and turn around a couple hours later and sell it at 1.46"

He wants over 40% ROI in a few hours. If I can do that consisitently yearly or monthly basic, I can own the whole world before I die.

6. DannoXYZ

DannoXYZ

Try papertrading for a month and see how your strategy works out...

Also I suggest your parents keep their money...