Newbie-esque question about continuous rolls

Discussion in 'Commodity Futures' started by Tim Smith, Aug 8, 2016.

1. Tim Smith

Tim Smith

Hi,

Apologies for the newbie nature of this question, but I'm relatively new to Futures and am trying to get my head around some of the concepts.

I recently subscribed to Quandl's SCF continuous feeds in order to help with analysis.

Looking through their documentation, most of it makes sense, but one roll-method they have is open-interest-switch or liquidity-based roll method.

This roll-method however comes with a health-warning:

However, note that it is completely inappropriate for interest rates futures, and should be used with care for energy and agriculture futures.

Google is not being my friend, so could anyone kindly expand a little on :
    - Why the use of the strong term "completely inappropriate" re: rates futures ?

- What sort of "care" I should be exercising when using with energy and agri ? (assuming its sensible to use them at all and not just avoid ?)

(https://www.quandl.com/data/SCF/documentation/roll-methodology if you want to look at the source of quotes above).

2. - It's inappropriate for interest rate futures (specifically, STIR futures), since STIRs represent forward rates with very specific dates. This makes OI switch meaningless for STIRs.

- Hard to know what they mean.

3. Tim Smith

Tim Smith

Thanks for the pointer on interest rates futures, makes sense, I thought it might be something like that.

Glad I'm not the only one stumped by the second point !

4. Maverick74

Maverick74