Newbie at forex

Discussion in 'Journals' started by mr.meow, Oct 3, 2008.

1. mr.meow

mr.meow

Hi all,

I'm a complete newbie starting out in trading, interested in forex especially. I've deposited $10,000 in an online brokerage account. Planning to start out as small and conservatively as possible when I feel comfortable. I am realistic, I am not expecting to be profitable for at least a couple years (if that), so I hope that the price of tuition for the time isn't too expensive.

Some background:
    Grad student in quant field with a few years of online/live mid stakes poker experience.

1) What do you think of the relationship between my starting account, bet sizing, and experience?
    2) What are normal things to expect in the first six months? AKA: What should I be most afraid of that will cause me to blow out the account?
    3) What are good threads on ET for someone like me?

Thanks in advance for any advice from anyone.

2. mr.meow

mr.meow

Decided to take out $5k since $10k seems a bit much for a noob like me to play around with.

Anyways, started the first session and totally disappointed with myself, I'm a clown.

Went on total tilt. I had 1, 2, 5, 10, 15, 20, and at a few times 30 (mini-)lots of EUR/USD 10,000 lots. 30 lots!!! What an idiot I am. Basically chasing after losses. I think I committed every error possible.

- Went from 5k to 4.3k betting up to 10 lots.

- Got lucky and caught a swing up to 5.1k...now using up to 30 lots.

- Said to myself I would play it cool. Nope. 1 lot, 2 lots, 20 lots, then 30 lots. Dipped down to $3.8k, then caught a lucky swing back up to $5,171, at which point I exited and felt shitty about my first trading performance.

So made a 3.42% gain...through sheer luck, lack of emotional control, and a lot of stupidity.

Hopefully I get better. Emotional control and trading discipline to do the very simple things seem to be more pressing concerns for me, before I get into the nuances of technicals and fundamentals.