New, Wondering about Brokers?

Discussion in 'Forex' started by GSD, Jul 13, 2012.

1. GSD

GSD

Hey I was just curious about brokers.
    If I open an account with FXCM are they my broker? Or I need to sign up with someone other than them?
    Any help would be appreciated I am new to all of this..
    Thanks in advance.

2. Jason Rogers

Jason Rogers ET Sponsor

Hi GSD,

First of all, welcome to the forum!

To answer your question: Yes, if you open an account with FXCM, we would be your broker. You not have to sign up with someone else, because you can place your trades through FXCM. If you are new to forex trading, you might want to begin by trying a free demo: http://www.fxcm.com/free-forex-trading-demo.jsp

I am FXCM's Brand Ambassador here on Elite Trader. If you have more questions about FXCM, you're welcome to post them in the FXCM Discussion thread: http://www.elitetrader.com/vb/showthread.php?s=&postid=3571488#post3571488

Jason

3. hey Jason, I know FXCM is a market maker. Personally I prefer using an ECN. Could you explain the benefits of using a market maker as opposed to using an ECN?

4. NoBias

NoBias

ECN vs. MM's http://www.investopedia.com/articles/forex/06/ECNmarketmaker.asp#axzz20ZhF8RCu

ECN Broker list http://www.100forexbrokers.com/stp-ecn-brokers
    [Google Search provides many lists]

Interactive Brokers offers Forex at a reasonable commission and good execution.
    [also with global acct your funds are not limited to "Forex" only]

Since you are new, I may suggest Oanda due to the minimum acct required and the fact you can trade micro size to get better acquainted with Forex
    [Just be aware they have wide spreads and you may not want to use them for size]

Oanda http://www.oanda.com/

Also spend some time drilling down in Investopedia, there is a wealth of information available