New Trader

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by rjjr, May 13, 2005.

1. rjjr

rjjr

I'm 16 and just got started trading a few months ago. I've been buying a couple of shares here and their, usually no more than 100 and seem to always get into a stock too early and out to late. I only have about $2500 to invest. It's been six months since I started trading and I've lost abou $100. How do I make a profit. Your ideas and strategies would be very welcome.

2. stocon

stocon

3. If i were you i would stop trading for the moment. How long have you been learning for? What are your trades based on?

$2500 will not get you much, plus not sure what broker you use, but you are going to lose alot just on commision.

Plus, its a pretty vague question.....

4. rjjr

rjjr

alright, I use Scottrade which is $7 commission per trade. I haven't really lost or gained anything in the six months I 've been trading. However, I can't seem to think of a strategy to determine when to get in and out of a trade. It all seems so complicated, but trading seems to be a very exciting thing to do. What should I do

5. how the heck is a 16 yr old allowed to trade ?

at least wait until you are 18 ... and in the meantime ... try to read alot of trading books
    and / or
    ask questions to yourself about what your future
    educational goals are

:p

6. rjjr

rjjr

I already know what my career goal. I plan on joining the Army and possibly becoming a Ranger, however I need something to fall back on if all that doesn't work out. I can't see myself having some boring desk job and the only exciting thing I can think of now is either playing football or stock trading. Since I'm not that good in football I guess trading will have to be my back up option. Plus I'm not glued to the screen 24/7, I spend maybe a few hours a week trying to trade the markets. So help me out. It's better to start early, you should agree.

7. John47

John47

Best advice I can give you: