New Trader

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Jayhawk2003, May 17, 2003.

1. A little about me....I'm a recent college graduate (23 years old), and I have a full-time job with an engineering firm. I have never invested money in the market before, and I admit my knowledge is limited. I have a little more than $11,000 to start with. I have opened an account with Interactive Brokers.....got the idea here.....but I'm yet to place a trade. Basically, I'm going to sit on my cash until I have a better understanding of the markets. Though I consider myself reasonably intelligent, I realize the learning curve is likely to last years.

Since I have a full-time job, I will not be able to watch the market all day so I think a swing approach would be the most logical course to take. I'm looking for a website that takes the same approach....not one that is necessarily spitting out pick after pick....but rather a service that is more of a "teaching" resource. If anyone can offer any advise, I would be more than grateful.

This is off subject, but it seems this site would be improved if it had a "Review Section" on other investment sites.....not just books, brokers, and software though they are all very helpful......particulary for the newbies like myself.

Thanks for your time, and I appreciate any advise I might get. Hopefully, I'll be able to contribute to the board though it's not likely to be anytime soon :)

2. Enrico D

Enrico D

Welcome to Wall Street,

I would take it real slow and not to look at the "Get Rich" quick attitude. You may want to add your email to the site below. They do free lessons also every week, charting, t/a indicators etc.

Get a feel of market stick to your stronger based comapnies at first, IBM, MSFT, GE etc

Learn whatever you can first before putting your cards on the table. Best of Luck!